Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2003-08-03
Alas, no more early morning ramblings. For now.

9:41 p.m.

ADOPT DIXIE

Debbie asked me if my entries would still be amusing, considering that I wouldn't be writing them when I was sleep drunk. Well, I hope they will be, but tonight, she is in luck because I am really tired. I had a very hectic and packed weekend. On Friday, I had the last day of my crazy schedule of working 2AM to 10AM. Then, I had a work party at 5, and a going away party (not mine) at 9.

The next day, I had to go to work (I was the weekend ISO). Since the CIOs don't work on weekends, I had the option of going down and sitting in the front room. Trust me, I exercised that option. It was great. CIO sits right in front of the Flight Director, so that's where I sat. I really enjoyed it, and was not intimidated at all. I could definitely get used to that! Unfortunately, there were a lot of communication problems, and at one point, CapCom could not even talk to the crew, but it was all worked out eventually. I ended up being there for six hours - much longer than expected.

Afterwards, I called Sarah to see if she wanted to go downtown to the Galleria with me, which she did. She bought a dress for a wedding next week, and I bought a French tourbook and some German CDs, a backpack for Europe at Eddie Bauer and yet another blue shirt, as well as a funky-cool pink shirt. We finished up by having dinner at the Cheesecake Factory (heaven!) and each had a piece of their decadent Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake for dessert. So much for trying to fit in my bridesmaid dress! Despite the fact that the mall was PACKED, we didn't wait in any lines and even only waited 30 minutes for a table at 7:30PM.

Sunday, I had to go back into work, but for only 3 hours this time. Then, I had Valarie's bridal shower from 1-4 at a nice tea room. It was a lot of fun, and I think Val was pleased. I can't believe her wedding is less than two months away! No more Godivan chocolate cheesecake for me. Then, Nici's baby shower from 5-8:30. Nici is having twins, a boy and a girl. The party was made up of people from my two Bay Area Soccer League teams so I had a chance to say one last good-bye to all of them. Chandra has promised to save me a spot when I return. I was also supposed to pick up Becca at 9 at Intercontinental Airport (~1 hour away), and if I had had to do that, I would have left the party at 8, but she found an earlier flight and coerced Sarah into picking her up. So, anyway, now it's almost 10PM and I'm exhausted. This next week is going to be insane.

Tomorrow, I have to email ISU my resume and a picture, call FedEx because according to their website and my tracking number, they've delviered a package and I don't have it. I also have to pack, back-up my computer, mow the lawn, and do some other stuff, I'm sure. I'm going to be pretty much taking half-days all this week. Countdown is 7 days. Oh yeah, I guess I should call my aunt and see if it is okay to stay with her a day or two on my way through Cali.

Speaking of mowing the lawn, I'm sorry, but electrical yard appliances are pains in the behinds. At least the mower is. I am all for saving the environment, and recycle with a passion, but I don't think that I'll be buying an electrical mower. With the mower, blower, and edger, there is a cord invovled. With the weedwacker, a battery. The battery has a short lifespan. The edger and the mower have issues keeping the cord on the prongs. The result is that now we have two burned cords and a mower that has one of the prongs pulled out and is therefore unusable. And of course, with the mower, you have the cord to worry about running over, which is a definite concern for me. Actually, blower, edger, and weedwacker aren't so bad, it's just the mower that I really have issues with. So, I probably would buy electrical, just not a lawn mower.

Okay, I am really very tired so I am going to bed. After I clean the stuff off of it. I put my still-packed suitcases from my trips to Wisconsin and Dayton, Ohio on my bed in hopes that I would be inspired to take care of them before going to bed tonight. Right. That ain't be happening. G'night.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home