Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2004-11-29
the sky was dull | and hypothetical

17:25

People here like plain Diet Coke. Or Mr. Pibb. At least, that's the impression given by the fact that there're a lot of those in the Coke machines. Nothing for those of us with more discriminating tastes. Oh well; I really wanted a Cherry Coke, but I'll more than settle for a Barq's, since it tastes so much like sarsparilla, my favorite.

In my futile search for a Cherry Coke, I went in and out of the security doors with their new proximity badge readers. I was thrilled and did it several times; in, out, in, out. There are cameras around, so I'm sure that I'll amuse anyone if those tapes are ever watched, for whatever reason.

I'm having an exciting day, as you may tell.

My Thanksgiving was good, but not great. Well, it was good, I was not. I was rather cranky, due to some technological problems. :( And I wasn't exactly Little Miss Sunshine (even less than usual, I'm afraid) this weekend to begin with. But, on the upside, I did have a great time on Thanksgiving, ate lots of food, bought and decorated a Christmas tree with Nick, read a lot, lounged around in my pjs, and saw Alexander, which was good, but long, and Finding Neverland, which was excellent, and am now even more in love with Johnny Depp because he has a Scottish accent in the movie. Speaking of accents, apparently the Macedonians all had Irish accents. At least, according to Alexander. Who knew?

When Josh, Sarah and I were coming out of the theater after seeing Alexander, a guy in front of us asked, "Is Oliver Stone (the director) gay?". (There were not-so-subtle implications that Alexander wasn't exactly straight in the movie.) All humor aside, it's rather upsetting how hypocritical people are of the movie. For while the homosexual side of Alexander's character (fact or fiction, I can't say) was portrayed, there was nothing untoward, or even remotely explicit, and certainly nothing that younger audiences would comprehend (but what you're dong bringing a child to something that violent in the first place is beyond me). Yet, that is what "family" critics took issue with, that is what people are talking about, that is what's offending their delicate sensibilities. Never mind the sexually explicit scenes with a naked Rosario Dawson, or the graphic and violent war battles, or even the kiss between mother and son. Go figure. Grow up, people.

Hmmm, as you can see, still not quite over that crankiness bit.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home