Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2007-02-28
'appen as like as not as mebbe

05:44

Alright, about the ski trip. Short summary:

*Number of days skied: 4
*Number of days snoboarded: 2
*Number of trees run into: 1
*Number of lift poles run into: 1
*Number of bruises: 11 (that I could find)
*Number of new Yorkshire phrases learned: 4 ("'appen as like as not as mebbe" = it could happen; "button lift" - or is it "butt-on lift"? = tow lift; "'ow then" = greeting to one's neighbors in a Yorkshire pub if one is feeling particularly loquacious; "appint" = half pint)
*Number of new Southern phrases learned: 1 ("Might could" = it could happen)
*Number of rides down the hill in a snowmobile: 1
*Number of falls on the snowboard that HURT: 4
*Number of falls on the snowboard that probably should have hurt but didn't: 1 (slid partway on only my helmet)
*Number of times I fell over doing nothing but standing on my skis: 3
*Number of times I fell getting off the chairlift with a snowboard: 5 (not bad)
*Number of people I took out getting off the chairlift with a snowboard: 1 (sorry, Maayan)

Now, for the details:

Until I met Kelly, it had been a very long time since I'd been dragged above my level. I'd do it on my own, occasionally, but with Kelly (and friends), it was, literally, do or die. And mostly, if rather messily, I do. As a result, I'm finally feeling like I can actually SKI and SKI WELL, and this trip was evidence of that. I went down things, sometimes even halfway decently, that a few years ago I wouldn't have. The first two days of skiing, one each at Beaver Creek and Vail, were awesome. During a mountain tour, I even found a partner in crime named Neil to go with me through some trees; Becca and Gavin had followed me down a mogul-intensive double-black run called "Dragon's Teeth" (so named, one assumes, for the outcroppings of rock through which we had to navigate), but pled sanity when Neil and I decided to play chicken with evergreens just before the end of the day. They SO missed out.

And yes, to the amusement of my friends, I did hit a small tree (witnessed) and skied backwards into a chairlift pole (not witnessed) and fell over several times doing nothing but standing around on my skies. I'm not sure if the latter made the beginners in our group feel better or worse.

That's enough for now. Tomorrow: Cari and Maayan's Adventures in Snowboarding or How to Con a Ride Down on a Snowmobile.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home