Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2007-02-27
when starbucks would have been useful

02:16

I am back from skiing. I am sore. I will update on that later, when I'm actually awake, because, right now, it's all I can do to stay focused. Yup - I'm back working le night shift. And while it's not all bangs and whistles (fortunately; bangs and whistles in my job are a BAD THING), at least I do get my voice projected into space occasionally and aspects of my job end up in articles. Say what you will, there are definite perks.

This is a different night shift than my usual 2-10 a.m.; rather, it's the preferable 9p.m-5 a.m. which is really just like staying up super late. Except that yesterday, I didn't get much sleep. Here's why:
5:30a.m. - home.
7:30a.m. - phone call from Houston airport driver trying to find our house to drop off our skis that had been left at the Denver airport Saturday night and finally made it to Houston.
8a.m. - receive skis.
8:30a.m. - drop Bennet off for his teeth cleaning (10% off for Canine Dental Health month, so HAD to take the available opening).
~11a.m. to 2:30p.m. - FIVE phone calls : two from the vet, one from a coworker and two hang-ups (grrr). (Note: This was especially upsetting as was in midst of lovely dream where the single and very attractive SG-1 Lt. Col. Cameron Mitchell (played by the unfortunately NOT single Ben Browder) was my coworker/love interest; yes, okay, I'm a BIG GEEK.)
3:30p.m. - Apache warns of approach of evil FedEx man with package for Becca.
4:30p.m. - pick-up Bennet from the vet.
8:30p.m. - leave to return to work.

Today's not looking much better. I'm off at 5, have a Telecon 6-9a.m. and then a team meeting 11a.m.-12:30p.m. Yes, I know that I'm insane. I honestly don't know how much I'll make; if a coworker shows up to the Telecon at 6, then I'll probably ditch and go home and not come in for the team training. Not ideal, but I can make it up and sleep is rather important. People will understand, me working this shift and all, but still, I feel like I should go.

Speaking of SG-1, just saw that even though this coming season is it for the series, they ARE making a movie!! I think it's a two-part TV movie instead of a theatrical production - there are two names given: Stargate:The Ark of Truth and Continuum - but WHO CARES. They're making a movie; I'm REALLY excited about that!! And Major General Jack O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) is at least in talks to appear; supposedly, he's not in the series finale (disapppointing), but I do hope he shows up in the movie. Make fun of me all you want, but I adore this show; it makes me happy; most of the charm is that it doesn't take itself too seriously and O'Neill, in particular, is hilarious.

One more thing to seal my geekdom, although this came by way of a friend: Reliant orbiter launch. It's awesome!!


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home