Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2005-12-21
it's beginning to look a lot like christmas

04:35

I am really not loving this shift. Well, it kinda comes and goes. I like being here by myself - actually get work done as little distraction, not that I don't love people, but, well, sometimes more productive by self - and like getting off at 10 a.m., but somehow, I haven't been able to make it to bed until 7 last two nights, and only ~3 hours sleep the night before. 7 may not be that late, but it is when it repeatedly means less than 6 hours of sleep. I wish that I was like my great-grandmother who only needed 5 hours a night. Not me. Unfortunately.

Yesterday, I went downtown for Elves and More. I was a little disappointed because I had been expecting to wrap presents, which I rather enjoy, but instead, I sorted personalized calculators in alphebetical order. It needed to be done, but was really mind-numbing. It was interesting, however, to see what names were included...and which ones weren't. We had Victoria, Kelsey, Krystal, Brianna, Isabella, Adrian, Holly, Mackenzie, Meagen and Brandon, some short and long versions of names like Mike/Michael, Mark/Markus, Chris/Christopher, also Steven/Stephen, but were missing names such as Carrie, Diane, Anne, Richard, Justin and Kevin. The last part of the time, I went over and started putting together boxes, and don't ask me why, but that I enjoyed, at least more than sorting calculators.

I'm supposed to go again today, but I'm tired and would prefer going home to take a nap. However, I've already signed up and while I can cancel, I have to give a reason and "I'm too tired" seems a pretty sorry excuse. I don't know. We'll see. If I do go, I hope that they are done with the calculators, as well as sundry other items to be sorted, and that I can actually wrap presents. At least today, I won't be doing any Christmas shopping afterwards; I finished off my in-store shopping (waiting on two internet purchases) yesterday after volunteering, which is part of the reason I didn't get to bed early yesterday; didn't make it home until 6. Stupid traffic, although, could have been worse.

Incidentally, if you're looking for a charity this season, might want to consider donating to Elves and More, since they're about $350K in the red right now.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home