Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2007-03-11
call me the busdriver; i take everyone to school

10:49

Three of Becca's cousins and her grandmother are in town this weekend, so she borrowed Sarah's Guitar Hero, which they've been playing non-stop when at home and not walking (with much encouragement from us) the dogs. I've never played the game myself, never really been much for video games (Zelda, NHL Hockey and 1942 being notable exceptions, still, none of which I play with any level of skill), so I didn't want to embarrass myself in front of people I don't even know. They've just left for the obligatory NASA tour that all visitors to Houston must suffer through and left the game up, so I thought I'd give it a try. And, I have to say, I ROCK. Okay, so I've only played twice to one song (Cheap Trick's "Surrender"; awesome song, by the way) and it's set on "Easy", but nearly 45K points the first attempt and just shy of 60K on the second is pretty dang good, methinks. Instead of just watching the buttons, I try to play to the music and I think that helps. Also, since it's all fingering, my years of playing the piano (well) and guitar (not at ALL well) probably don't hurt, either.

I can't WAIT for the boys to come back because I'm going to challenge and SCHOOL them. Ha HA! Finally, a game that I'm actually good at!

*******

I'm taking a crochet class at the local Michael's and have decided on my first project: a Gryffindor scarf from the first couple Harry Potter movies, as shown below; in Prisoner of Azkaban, they're different - mostly burgundy with thin gold stripes.


I hope to have it completed in time to wear it to Order of the Phoenix in July. Yes, July in Houston and I'll be wearing a 7' scarf; but it's always freezing inside movie theaters (and most other businesses in the area) so it will be appreciated, even though all of my friends will make fun of me in order to hide their jealousy that they don't have one. ;) I've already been called "such a dork"; seeing as that label applies for any number of things, I'm not overly concerned. Speaking of Mr. Potter, seems there won't be any cast changes for the title character, despite the actor outpacing his onscreen persona age-wise. Phew! I hope the other two stick around for the final installments. Cannot imagine anyone else as Harry, Ron and Hermione now. Or even Malfoy, Ginny, and the rest of the gang.

*******

As I'm writing this, I'm watching CSI: NY. I'm a sucker for melancholy music, and there's this one passage in their background music that I absolutely LOVE and they just played it; gives me the shivers each time.

*******

Last night, I finally finished my taxes. I'd been putting it off for a while; not sure why as I usually do them in January. This year, I think I have it about right - I owed $143. I know it seems non-intuitive, but owing the government a bit instead of a receiving a giant refund is ideal for someone like me. It's my money to begin with and as I'm a saver/investor, I think that I put it to better use than the government would have. So, I'm satisfied. Plus, I've put the pay date as late as possible so that I'll at least earn interest on it in April before it's taken out of my account.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home