Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2006-02-10
i don't mind spending everyday | out on the corner in the pouring rain

16:52

This morning, my coworker went to visit a school downtown that's participating in EarthKAM. Accompanied by a cameraman, he and several other people from work talked to the students about their involvement with EarthKAM. It's supposed to be shown on CBS news at five, so I have the TV on at my isolated post in the control center, tuned to the appropriate channel. Apparently, in Houston, Oprah comes on just before the news. Right now, she has a doctor on talking about necessary health tests. They were talking about, er, other things, but now they've moved onto showing a colonoscopy. I'm sure going to want dinner tonight! Yum!

*******

It rained this morning and the sky has been gloomy all day, looking especially menacing as I walked from my office to the control center. All this week, I've parked over here so that when I leave, my car is right here. It means a little more walking in the morning, but I prefer that to the extra walking in the evening. But, this morning, there was NOTHING over here, so I parked by my office with the intent of moving it later. I was late coming over, so I didn't have time to move the car, and now, here I am, in the control center, with my car parked across site, and the news (thank God Oprah and her doctors are over) shows imminent severe weather. I do have an umbrella, but am not relishing walking across site in the possible pouring rain and driving wind.

Gotta go - they're showing the EarthKAM bit! Oh wait, it's over. TEN SECONDS! There is a blurb in the daily words to the crew about the school visit "featured on the Channel 11 news and in the Houston Chronicle". I'm sorry, but ten seconds is NOT "featured". Have to see what the Chronicle does. Not that I really expect anything more - NASA even getting on the TV and in the paper AT ALL for something GOOD is a big deal. Still; they spent longer on the 87-year-old woman who shot her caretaker. C'est la vie.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home