Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2006-03-09
you're not the boss of me now | life is unfair

07:23

Life is unfair.

We all know it to be true, and I certainly know that there have been some very lucky opportunities/decisions in my life that have planted me where I am today. So, while we all recognize the validity of that statement, there are still things that just leave a sour taste in one's mouth. And I'm not talking about anything big, just small, mundane, seemingly inconsequential things. I witnessed such a one yesterday.

I drove through a residential area with a stop sign intersection that is notorious for its concealed police cars, waiting to pounce on unsuspecting motorists who don't quite come to a complete stop. I saw a truck and police car pulled over, both of which entered back onto the street as I approached. The police car made a u-turn and came up along side me as we both came to the stop sign. I'm no dummy; I came to a full and complete stop, even sitting there for a few seconds. As I later mentioned to Becca, what he did, however, would be called a rolling stop, except that there was no "stop" involved.

I have no problem with police officers pulling people over for rolling stops (although, I think they do it a might excessively; don't they have better things to do than hide out at the intersection so often?). The sign says stop, you should stop, and if you don't and there's a cop around, you pay the consequences. What I do have a problem with is pulling someone over for just such an offense and then doing it themselves immediately after. That is so very, very wrong.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home