Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2007-06-08
mission control still turns blue before each launch

09:44

Today is launch day.

I've been sitting here since 3:30 this morning, with launch still another 8 hours and 45 minutes away. When I get off, I have to go home and sleep in case we don't launch and I end up having to come back in tomorrow to do the prelaunch shift again. However, everything is marching along smoothly for an on-time launch at 6:38 p.m. (CDT). It's been a slow and uneventful shift (which is good; eventful=BAD). I've spent pretty much the entire time updating our console books with last-minute changes; mindless, time-eating work - good thing because sleep last night? Not so much. A malfunctioning A/C unit and two restless dogs a good night's sleep do not make. Right now, I'm running high on tea and macaroni and cheese - a winning combination!

Keep up-to-date with the countdown here.

It is interesting working this shift; I'm privy to the prelaunch telecons and meetings and such and I was able to watch on TV as the sun rose behind the shuttle stack. I always forget just how great I have it until I'm staring at the bird on TV, gassed up and ready to go. Now, I'm really excited (or maybe that's just the caffeine) because this is NOT a sim, this is real and I'm a part of it! Those Flight Controllers you see on TV? I be one o'them.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home