Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2007-06-06
on this solemn occasion

15:27

Something major happened 63 years ago today, and three years ago I stood on the spot it happened. Those of you reading this probably forgot about it, and thought, today, what is today? It's June 6th, okay, June 6th is...OH! Why, June 6th, that's D-Day! Even I forgot; in my Russian class, we're learning dates and I said today was June 7th and that tomorrow was the 8th because I thought it was Thursday.

On this day, I think about my great-uncle, marching up the bloodiest beach (Omaha) on D-Day, H-Hour. It never ceases to amaze me that he, or anyone else, survived that war. Regardless of one's feelings on war in general, have to admire the courage needed to keep going in that hell.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home