Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2004-03-06
California immortalized

2:31 p.m.

What is it about French radio and songs about California cities? Today I heard one about Santa Cruz. Here it is:

Santa Cruz (You're Not That Far)
By The Thrills (Irish)

Well tell me
Where it all went wrong.
And tell me
Where you lost those damn songs.
I can't say I was surprised;
I heard a drink was involved.

Oh you gotta be, oh you gotta be
Still living by the sea.
Oh you gotta be, oh you gotta be.

Cuz Santa Cruz
you're not that far.
Oh Santa Cruz,
No, you're not that far.

But now and then here once in a while
Those August cowboys stole your style.
Don't you know he feels blind.
Well your train's just rolled in on time.

Oh you gotta be, oh you gotta be
Still living by the sea.
Oh you gotta be, oh you gotta be.

Cuz Santa Cruz,
You're not that far.
Oh Santa Cruz,
No, you're not that far.

Interesting. In other news, I had my hair cut today. The hairdresser spoke no English, but I understood what he said and was able to make myself understood. Mostly. They have an interesting style over here, different than the US (yes, duh, I know). Anyway, I ended up with a cross between the Rachael (from Friends) and a sophisticated mullet. I know that sounds really bad, but it's not. It actually is kinda cool and I have really long bangs that fall across my face. The only thing that I don't like is that his way of layering my hair in back was to cut a pretty short layer (about earlobe length) and leave the rest of it long, below my shoulders. So, it gives my hair some body and is really easy to take care of, but is kind of funky. I do like my bangs, though, even if they keep falling in my face.

I went and saw The Girl with a Pearl Earring, or in French, La Jeune Fille � la Perle. It was pretty good and they stuck to the book fairly well.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home