Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2004-03-10
You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me

4:52 p.m.

Okay, so again, I'm listening to my radio and yet another song about a California city comes on. This time, it's about San Bernardino. Yup, San Bernardino, which is near Los Angeles. What I want to know is when I'll hear a song about Auburn. Now, that would be something. I just find this endlessly amusing. I mean, I know that Texas has a lot of cities that are sung about. Just off the top of my head, there's Laredo, San Antonio, Houston, Galveston, Luckenbach, Austin, Dallas, Amarillo, etc. But that's because it's Texas and all of the above cities are mentioned in Country Western songs. None of the songs about California cities are CW. And they're not even main ones; yes, I know that there are songs about San Fran and LA, and I'm sure there are ones about San Diego, but really, San Bernardino? To continue the tradition, here're the lyrics:

San Bernadino by Christie

I've been all around this great big world to Paris and to Rome
And I've never found a place that I could really call my own.
But there's one place where I know the sun is shining endlessly.
And it's calling me across the sea so I must get back to San Bernadino.

I remember when I was 16 my Daddy said to me:
You could travel round this universe until eternity
But you'll never find that peace of mind that you've been dreaming of,
Not until you finally decide to come on home to San Bernadino.

Oh I'm longing for San Bernadino

Oh I'm longing for San Bernadino

I've been all along the water right up to the Rio Grande
and I've never found that paradise they call the Promised Land.
I was young and foolishly I thought the world was at my feet.
But I'm no diff'rent now and so I'm homeward bound for San Bernadino.

Well, I'm older and I'm wiser and I've seen the light of day.
And I think it's time to realize my dreams have gone astray.
But I've tried so hard to reach that star that was so far away.
But now I've got to find that road that's leading home to San Bernadino.

Oh I'm longing for San Bernadino
Oh I'm longing for San Bernadino

We got our exams back. I did okay. Nothing exciting, and not as well as I'd hoped, unfortunately. Ah well.

I just finished reading Atlas Shrugged. It was really good, but LOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG, as in 1084 small-print pages. Not only that, but there's a 60-page speech in there. Whew! For a concise (and amusing) summary, look here. But, it is good, and I can see why so many people follow her ideals. They are very impressive and alluring! There are some things that she says that I do agree with, and some that I don't.

So, I clicked on a banner for another diary that said "If Carnivorous Bran Muffins Could Talk". I mean, wouldn't you click on that? It sounded like something Debbie would write. On the guy's diary, he showed some of his other banners; one of which is the title of this entry and I liked so I stole but at least I'm giving credit.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home