Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2003-08-08
"Take me out to the ballgame..."

8:08 a.m.

ADOPT DIXIE

Last night I played my last two softball games. I was only supposed to play one game, but ended up playing another one afterwards, on a team, which I discovered, only after having been talked into playing, that played in the competitive league. Lovely.

Normally, I play first, and if not first, then second. There is a specific reason for that. I wouldn't mind playing outfield if I could play it. Unfortunately, I'm a horrible outfielder because I have no depth perception. If a ball is hit straight and hard, or high and short, I can catch it, but if it's hit high and long, nine times out of ten it goes over my head because I misjudge the distance. So, I really look like I suck. I played softball in junior high, and I was put in right field, so of course, everyone thought I wasn't very good. I can't play third because I don't have the arm strength to throw hard to first. Short stop is out for the same reason. Second is okay; I can manage the throw to first, but home is harder. I don't like catcher because I'm overly paranoid that I'll get smacked in the head with the bat. I know that's not likely, but I'm still afraid. And I can't pitch. So, that leaves first. Which I LOVE. It's hard to convince people to let me play first after seeing me in right, but really first is a lot easier; all you have to do is catch balls thrown at you, which I can. I may not be able to throw, but I can catch just about anything that you throw at me, as long as it's not ridiculously out of reach, like something only Inspector Gadget with his Go-Go-Gadget arms would be able to catch.

Usually, on my regular co-ed rec team (the Loaded Bats), I play first, so it's all good. Last night, however, I was put in right field. Why, I really don't know, but fortunately, nothing came my way. We had a really good game, a good one for me to end on. We were playing the co-ops, and were already ahead in our last at-bat, when I stepped up to the plate with two out and no one on. Since we were ahead, there was no pressure to score or even get on base, but I still hate being up with two outs. There's enough pressure in that. Anyway, I ended up hitting a single, so I was on base. Then Darby was up behind me, and he hit a single. Next, Stephanie was up. She, too, hit a single. So, Sean is now up with the bases loaded and two out. He proceeds to hit an in-the-field grand slam. Talk about a two-out rally!!! It was AWESOME!!!

I had played well, that two-out rally was unbelievable, and I wanted to go out on a good note, so I was reluctant to play another game, but I thought, what the heck. At first, they put me in right field (honestly, people), but when they saw that I had a first baseman's glove, they figured I must be okay and put me at first (yay!). I was REALLY nervous, because even though it's easier, there's a lot of action, it's an important position, they didn't know me, the sun was right in my eyes so I couldn't see anything from third, short, or second, and it was competitive. But, I did fine, and I was happy because I played first and didn't screw up. I also managed to get on base both times I was up, going 3 for 5 for the night (actually, I got on base all 5 times that I was up, but 2 of those times were fielder's choice).

Overall, a very good night. I ended it by joining Becca, Jen, and Gavin for dinner at one of our favorite Mexican restaurants, Melly's. Yum.

Now today is my last day at work. Am I ready? Heck, no. I'm going to come in tomorrow and take home all of the stuff I'm worried about walking off. Most, I'm going to leave here. Debbie, my branch chief, says that I am NOT to clean out my desk and swears that they are going to put me back in the exact same spot.

Anyway, I have to go get my translated documents. One more thing to knock off of my list. I'm getting there! Everyone keeps asking if I'm excited. If I had time to think about it, I would be, but I'm so focused on checking off the next item on my list that it hasn't even sunk in that this is my last day at work for a year, I'm leaving Houston for a year, and going to France. I'm sure it will hit soon enough, and THEN I'll be excited!


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home