Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2003-07-31
The difference between dogs and cats is that dogs think that they're human, and cats think that they're god.

5:06 a.m.

ADOPT DIXIE

I consider myself one of those rare people who likes cats and dogs equally. I would love to have a cat, but we already have Kennda's cat, Tang, and three dogs: Bennet, Apache, and Dixie. Bennet and Apache have learned to leave Tang alone, but Dixie hasn't, and it's not just Tang, it's all cats. They can sense that in her and go beserk around her, where they don't bat an eye at other dogs. Having been swiped on the nose many times doesn't seem to have deterred her any. On top of that, Becca is allergic to cats and one is almost too much for her. So, I'll have to wait until I get my own place.

And hopefully Dixie will be going somewhere else soon. She's a lovely dog, but three dogs is too many. Becca will be taking care of Bennet for me while I'm in France, and two is enough. If you know of anyone, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE let them know. She's really sweet, spayed, and has all of her shots. We'd rather not take her back to the shelter.

Having professed myself a cat-lover, one would assume that I am overjoyed at having Tang in the house. For the most part, yes, but with Kennda being gone so much, four animals is too many so Tang usually stays with someone else. And while I enjoy petting Tang, he has an annoying habit of biting if he doesn't think that you're doing a good enough job. He also has a tendency to meow the entire night and opens and closes cupboards.

My sister sent me a funny little wave file of cats. If you want to see it, let me know and I'll send it to you.

I had a chemistry professor in college who hated cats to the point that he once remarked that it was too bad that UCSD had a restriction against animal experimentation because he could think of several interesting demonstrations involving cats and hydro-flouric gas. Don't worry, PETA, he was only joking. I think.

On to dogs. Right now, I have a Border Collie named Bennet (after Elizabeth Bennet of Pride & Prejudice). He was born June 1, 2002. Here is a picture of him at 10 weeks and in his Halloween costume at 4 months.

���

Becca has a dog named Apache who is a retriever/something mix (we're actually guessing dad was a Border Collie). She and Bennet get along very well with each other. Unfortunately, the same cannot necessarily be said for her and Dixie. Whatever one of them has, the other wants so they spend the entire time growling at and trying to take the toys away from each other. Bennet, I've noticed, has started putting himself in between them to break them up. Or, he'll go grab another toy, start chewing on it, then Apache and Dixie become interested in what he has and take it from him (which he lets them do) and then he'll go grab another one and it starts all over again. It's actually quite amusing to watch.

I think that today I will go to Russian, but that's still many hours off and I am still really tired, despite guzzling a Mountain Dew, which contains as much caffeine as they can shove in a 12-oz can. I caught up a little on my sleep yesterday, but 4 + 3 = 2 naps, not 7 hours. Today, oh today, I have a long block of uninterrupted sleep. Yesterday, I went home, took a nap, got up and went to my eye apointment, came home, gave away an ugly lamp, sold my bike, and bought a computer. The price was pretty painful, but I'm excited about the computer. It's a Macintosh Powerbook G4 Superdrive (CD/DVD R/W), 12" screen, 4.6 lbs, 867-Mhz processor, 256-MB DDR memory, 40-GB hard drive and I saved over $700 off of the retail price, thanks in part to Fred. Of course, there were the add-ons - Office software and the warranty were the big ones. I always do the warranties. Never have used any of them, so I feel like I'm being taken when I do buy them (and I probably am), but there's that little voice that always says "what if..." and I give in. Of course, there's a better chance that I will use it than most people, since I have a tendency to lose/drop things. I probably won't need it, but just in case something happens, I have it. Besides, isn't that the rational behind health and car insurance? We don't necessarily need it, but we shell out hundreds of dollars "just in case".


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home