Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2007-01-31
saturday night and the moon is out

12:21

I suppose it's about time I wrote something, especially seeing as how I had such a great Saturday night. On Friday, I had an all-day meeting, and during lunch, the lead asked who was available to go to a black-tie dinner in honor of the 20th anniversary of the Challenger Center - needed people to fill empty seats, so a few friends and I ended up going.

Reception (w/open bar) started at 6:30, dinner at 7:45, speeches at 8:45, entertainment at 10. It was a four-course meal, with a cheese ravioli appetizer, spinach and endive salad with Mozzarella and tomato garnish, entr�e of petite filet mignon, crab-stuffed shrimp, green beans, Pomme de Terre Dauphinoise (scalloped potato-type side), and white chocolate cheesecake dome. So much food, and so good, that I really didn't eat much on Sunday.

Since we were all dressed up, and the entertainment was listed as dancing, I was figuring it'd be ballroom. Instead, we had the World Classic Rockers. I couldn't have been more wrong if I'd guessed we'd be getting Eminem. Being a child of the 80's, I loved the music and it was so exciting to hear "Sweet Home Alabama" and "Magic Carpet Ride" played by the actual band members. I even got a guitar pick from Michael Monarch; I'm a Steppenwolf groupie! =)


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home