Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2005-03-30
all in the family

04:54

It was hard to get up this morning, even more so than Monday, which is weird because Monday I only dozed in bed for an hour between coming home from The King and I and heading into work. Maybe it was that I didn't really fall asleep on Monday, whereas my alarm woke me from a sound sleep today. Whatever. I'm tired.

One would think that this would almost be the ideal shift because it's quiet, there's not a lot to do, so one can work console while taking care of other assignments. Not really. The quiet and slowness only lends itself to how tempting it would be to go lay down behind the table for a quick little nap... Aargh. Tomorrow will be better because of the long sim, so there'll be people in here and bustle an such.

The Starbucks in the cafeteria (yes, we have an actual Starbucks on-site) opens in 1.5 hours. As much as I tease Becca about her complaints of the difference between the Starbucks in the Randall's grocery store and the actual coffee shops, which I don't notice, I am with her on the one here - not quite up to par. But that's not as important as that in 1.5 hours, I can get life-sustaining caffeine. :) In the form of a Tazo Chai Latte, and with a $1-off coupon, which makes up for the difference.

Likely seen it off Becca's blog, but I'll put it here, regardless. I took this picture of Bennet & family who were visiting this past weekend and have now gone home, much to the relief of Apache, and Bennet.



L-R: Johnnie, Jeannie, and Bennet; mom, Katie, is laying in front. It took time, and determination on my part, to get this picture - you try to get four restless Border Collies to sit still for 30 seconds! :)

Apparently, I'm a bit of a celebrity in Becca's office due to the fact that I kissed a banana slug on our trip to Canada. It's not that big of a deal, and I don't know why everyone is making such a fuss, but I am glad that it's so entertaining. Yesterday, I visited Becca before going home and she took me in to meet a co-worker who was especially amused, and I happened to mention that they (banana slugs) are the mascot of UC Santa Cruz. Click here for information about Sammy the Slug. Go Slugs is the official athletics website, and there's a link to the Slug Store; baby Slug slippers, anyone? :)


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home