Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2005-08-26
99 luft balloons

11:45

This morning, I had my first ride (that I remember; supposedly, I went as a baby) in a hot air balloon. It was awesome! I'd signed up to crew, never expecting that I'd get a ride (but hoping, of course), and today, on the first day, I got to go! Such an unexpected and pleasant surprise! Becca, Sarah and I all signed up individually to maximize our chances of getting a ride, but we all ended up on the Happy Teeth team - Dan, the pilot, and Sue, his wife/crew chief are dentists - and it looks like they're planning on trying to get us all up, which is unexpectedly kind of them. It's really turning into quite a deal - a free, tasty breakfast from sponsors, driving around in the chase vehicle with multiple people giving directions (always fun), hanging out w/Becca and Sarah, learning about balloons, just being part of the team and the pi�ce de resistance, actually riding in the balloon. Sarah put up some pictures that she took today.

This morning was the Media Ride, so Dan took Terry, a financial sponsor, up with him and as there was room for one more, I was invited to hop in. After a bit, we set down long enough for me to switch out with another crew member, Ken. They went over a river and Dan dipped the basket in, before settling in a field. Sarah and I grabbed the crown line and pulled the balloon over - it was surprisingly hard! After helping them put it away, Terry, Ken and I participated in the time-honored initiation of balloon riders - we had to drink champagne (yes, champagne at 10 a.m.) from a Dixie cup without using our hands, while Sue poured water on us. I was so hot, it felt really good!

At work now, but we'll meet up with them again at 5:30 tonight for the balloon glow/mass ascension. Then it's tomorrow morning and night, and Sunday morning. Busy weekend, but fun!


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home