Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2006-05-26
where is the moment when we need it the most

09:12

Last night I played softball for the first time in ages, and, unfortunately, it showed. I don't play regularly on the team anymore and only sub when needed, as was the case last night. First base is my position, which I LOVE and am actually pretty good at (usually). Last night, I did drop/miss a couple of balls, but at least they weren't "easy" catches, except for the one that Sean threw right at my face; two were in the dirt, just an inch beyond reach, and one was lost in the lights. Otherwise, I did okay. A girl on the other team even commented that I was a great first baseman, which totally made my day. Even though this was the beginning of the fifth and final inning, where we were tied 7-7, and two of my dropped balls happened immediately afterward, helping their team to score four runs. We headed into the bottom of the inning, trailing 7-11, needing five runs to win. Having scored only one run with two outs, it didn't look good and when Amy went up to bat, I jokingly said, here's the start of our two-out rally! And sure enough, it was!!! We ended up winning 12-11!!! I couldn't believe it - to come from behind and score five runs, when we hadn't done that in any of the previous innings!! It was so exciting. I can even say that I contributed, scoring one run in the second inning, making a couple of outs, too, although I did fly and strike out (standing! is there anything worse?) later and there were those couple of dropped balls. Still, all in all, not bad! And we did win!!

The whole week has kinda been like that, like being caught in a whirlpool, sure you're going down, when you're whisked out at the last minute. Wednesday, I received some bad news and was in a foul mood when I checked my e-mail and saw this from my front room (who copied my manager, too): "FYI....Flight just told me that you did a GREAT job handling handover today...so Kudos....from her and me....in my opinion not enough good stuff like this gets passed around.....Flight went out of her way to tell me this...." I don't care how bad of a day you had, that makes it all disappear.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home