Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2007-04-25
they just seem a little bit crazy

17:54

Today, I came to work at 11 a.m. because I worked overnight Monday, then slept fitfully for four hours Tuesday morning, came back into work at 3 p.m. until 8 p.m. So, I was tired. And not feeling particularly well. Anyway, spare me the lecture about working too much, whatever, that's not the point. The point is that I came in at 11 today, which is prime lunchtime evacuation, meaning it's possible to get a good parking spot in the lot right next to my building; usually, I park across the street. Actually, even that's not the point, the real point is that it's only a good parking spot if one remembers.

Which I did, but only after heading out to my usual location.

Fortunately, the weather was nice. Houston has really weird weather, in my opinion. As I left this morning, the sky scowled ominously and a quiet wave of thunder rumbled overhead. By the time I arrived at work and found my good parking spot, it was coming down in big, fat drops. It continued to rain off and on (more on than off) throughout the day, not even a touch of blue in sight. At least until 1:45. After that, I disappeared into the bowels of a cubicle. When I finally emerged at 4:15, it was to a different world - beautiful blue sky, blinding sun. There were clouds, but of the fluffy white variety. The only evidence that suggested that there'd been a storm of any kind were the remaining mud puddles and the after-the-rain sensation in the air that can make even a city as smoggy as Houston feel fresh and clean.

Now, I'm again ensconced inside a window-less building, so who knows what kind of weather I'll find when I leave (hopefully) in about an hour.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home