Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2008-09-19
hurricane clean-up

05:40

I am back home after a week-long "hurrica-tion" in Austin. I returned Wednesday morning, and apparently it was good that I didn't come back Tuesday due to Galveston residents jamming the freeways in order to "look and leave", meaning, they could return for a short time, and then everyone had to leave again, including those who rode out the storm.

Wednesday was spent doing yard work, picking up shingles blown off the roof and bagging debris. Yesterday, we dug out the remnants of five fence posts, including the cement blocks. They were deep. I'm surprisingly not sore from the amount of digging and hammering I did yesterday, only the pad of my right hand from so much gripping. Today, it's off to Home Depot to try and snag 6 2x4x8s and ~100 fence planks to rebuild the fence. I don't know how much I'll get done as Becca and Byron are out of town today through Sunday, but I might have some help from people who are not totally incompetent with home repairs (as I am) and are likely not to cut their hand off with a saw, so it may actually happen.

Otherwise, since work is still closed until Monday, there's not a lot on the docket. There're still a lot of people worse off than I so I'll probably volunteer for something or other. Plus, I have to unpack from my evacuation as well as prepare the guest room for my parents' arrival next weekend. A TON of work to do there! I also thought I might finally go to the San Jacinto Monument/Battleship Texas, which I've wanted to do for ages, and possibly work off some stress at the driving range; something very satisfying about smashing the devil out of those little white balls. Of course, the latter two depend on 1) time and 2) if open. Finally, I think I might go to the Episcopal church down the street on Sunday. I've been having a tough time lately, and there's something about the rigid traditional mass that I find oddly comforting in my times of need.

So, that's it. Hope everyone else is doing well.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home