Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2008-09-13
watching the ike-capades from austin

09:09

I probably should have posted here two days ago, so that if anyone thought to look at this site and see if what was going on with me regarding Ike.

All rest assured, I am safe. I am in Austin with both dogs, staying with friends. Right now, we have some wind, maybe some rain later, but that should be the worst that we see here. I left Friday at noon, took the backroads nearly all the way, and made it to Austin in about 5 hours, which is not too bad. I drove ~5 miles on I-10 west, and that was horrible. I am so glad that I didn't take the freeways out.

Of course, being this far out, I am frantic to know what is going on with my house in League City. I honestly have no idea what I will do should there be water damage, or even when I can go back. Can we even live in the house if there's damage? I guess it would depend on how much. And my mind keeps going over the things that I stupidly, so stupidly, left behind. Like, some childhood photos, although those are in a tupperware container on a high shelf, so they will probably be OK. But, then there's a cardboard box of childhood items, including my high school diploma, SITTING ON THE FLOOR. You would think I'd have remembered something like that. Oh, and some irreplaceable items of my great-uncle's from WWII. Yeah, left those behind. I live in a hurricane area. I should have made a list a long time ago of such things, what is really important to grab during an evacuation.

I've been trying to look, and Google actually has something that shows flooding (sort of), and it doesn't look like my street is flooded. But I don't know for sure! I want pictures! Argh! It's so frustrating.

Anyway, so I am here in Austin, safe and sound, but without a clue as to what will happen, when I can go back, or what to do should my house be unlivable.

Wishing all of my friends closer in the best of luck, and praying for the lives of those who didn't evacuate. May God bless you all.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home