Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2005-09-16
it's not who i am inside, it's what i do that counts

21:09

I have meetings all this week and next. All day. It would be nice if my office responsibilities stopped during these two weeks, but, unfortunately, NOT. As a result, I'm racking up mucho overtime. It is worse than being on travel; at least then people understand that, for the most part, in-office activities must be suspended during the time away. Just down the street is certainly well within leash-yanking range; it is the same for working console.

These meetings involve representatives from Russia, Italy, France and Germany, as well as the US, of course. It is a semi-cool feeling to be able to understand some of the conversation when the various groups go into side discussions. I only say semi-cool, because I do not speak nor understand any of the languages with much proficiency. There is one German, who, in addition to conversing fluently in English, and with little accent, seems to have no problems discussing in French, as well. SO jealous.

*******

Last night was softball. I did okay; I seem to be hitting fairly well, even if my fielding sucks. I went 1 for 2 with a walk, and both hits were to the outfield. Same for last week; I had a lower average - 1 for 3, I think - but two of the three were past infield. It would have been 2 for 3 that night if the short stop hadn't made a great catch. Boo.

The other night, I went with a friend from work and her husband to see Batman Begins at the Dollar Theater. I'd never seen it before, and I have to admit, that those claiming that this was by far and above the best Batman film must be exaggerating, but after seeing it, I have to admit that they weren't. It blew the others away. I absolutely LOVED it! It was dark, but with plenty of witty commentary (gotta love Morgan Freeman). Also, - being a girl, I must say it - Christian Bale is HOT. He's definitely on my list. There were so many good lines, and a few of the better ones were "I would recommend, sir, not falling on your face", "3 p.m. is late, even for a billionaire playboy", and "Spelunking? You want to use a $10,000 suit for cave diving?" and "I couldn't find anymore crime lords to string up," but my favorite is: "You know how it is, you're out looking for a good time, when someone passes around the weaponized aerosol..." Warning - I will be saying that for days.


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home