Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2003-12-15
'I want adventure in the great wide open | I want it more than I can tell...'

12:48 p.m.

This may sound a little, well, mad, considering where I am and what I am doing, but I've been feeling a little restless lately, like there's something else that I'm supposed to be doing, so much more that I could be accomplishing. It's hard to describe. I just feel as if there is some adventure out there for me which I do not yet know exists. I just have to go find it.

Such a feeling may have been partly inspired by the weather yesterday. It was fairly clear and chilly with a wind that made one's cheeks rosy without being truly cold. As I was coming into school, the sun had just fallen behind low-lying clouds, setting them aglow with red and orange flames, and the whole lower sky had a very majestic, unearthly feel that literally speaks the word 'adventure'.

I think that maybe this feeling of wunderlust is inherent in humanity, else, we would never invent, never seek to discover, never explore. And I certainly wouldn't be working for NASA, or living in France, or be who I am, I suppose, if I didn't have a fair measure of it.

Ahh, philosophy.

I have also been listening to the Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, and Last of the Mohicans soundtracks, the music of which is very haunting, ehtereal, and inspirational and I am sure that may have something to do with the feeling of restlessness.

Thursday, after I went home, I crashed for most of the day, and finally got up at 4 PM. Kelly and I went over to Serina's to have dinner ('Kraft Dinner', which is Canada's name for 'Kraft Macaroni & Cheese') and watched Last of the Mohicans since Kelly had never seen it before, but loved the music. She liked it okay. I love it, and is one of my favorites.

Friday we had our Christmas party at a local country club. I wore a black cocktail dress that I'd had since high school, and it still fit, amazingly enough. All of us girls decided that we were going to go formal, even though a good portion of the guys did not. It was a lot of fun, and we had a White Elephant gift exchange, and I ended up with a tin of jasmine tea. Not too bad.

Saturday, Brooke, Mark, Ruey, and I went to Mass at the Cathedral. It was the first time that I'd gone, although I'd been meaning to since I'd arrived. I am definitely going again. I can see why they built such magnificent cathedrals; majestic offerings to the Lord, but also to isnpire suitable humblenss and humility in the worshippers. There is something to be said about going to church in a medieval Cathedral. Although, Nick is upset with me because I forgot to include him. Oops.

I was happy to find that I understood a good deal more than I thought, partly because I actually understand the French, and partly because Mass is essentially the same as it is in the US, which is why I was able to understand the Mass in Madrid despite knowing barely any Spanish.

After church, we walked around the Christmas market a bit. Brooke and I had some hot wine and sausages. Very tasty! Then we went to Mark's and watched West Wing and episode 2 of Band of Brothers. And yesterday, I studied, which is what I will be doing today, tomorrow, and Wednesday. Thursday and Friday we have our tests. Blech. But, that's school.

I am currently reading Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf. I've wanted to read it since I saw The Hours.

Today, Nick was singing Christmas carols at the top of his lungs. It was very amusing, and he was attracting a lot of stares. But that's the great thing about him; he doesn't care. Kind of made me realize that I need to find someone who has the adventurous spirit, like Nick. Maybe not as much as Nick, but more than what I have, because I don't think that I'm very crazy at all. I am when other people instigate it, but not when left on my own. Not very useful in helping me discover my Grand Quest.

3:49 p.m.

Today, it is 1.22812 USD to the Euro. !!! Not very happy about that. On the other hand, all of my Canadian friends are excited beause it is 0.760324 USD to the Canadian dollar, which is higher than it's been in a very, very long time.

I forgot to mention that Becky sent me a Christmas card. I have the coolest friends. You guys rock. Also, Brooke's mom sent me a pair of Christmas socks. For those of you who know me, you know that I have a thing for cute socks.

Does anyone else get the idea that I'm avoiding studying?


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home