Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2008-02-15
geez, i crack myself up

11:45

Tomorrow is my birthday. In my group, everyone in the office where the victim sits is responsible for organizing and bringing in goodies. Usually, it's done in secret, stashing the contraband in neighboring offices and refrigerators. At the appointed time, everyone shuffles into the office and serenades the recipient with a purposefully horrid rendition of "Happy Birthday" before partaking in the food. However, there is only one guy in my office right now in addition to me, and as his birthday was also this week and today is his last day, I figured that unless I wanted to bring in my own birthday desserts, bordering on pathetic, I needed to enlist his help, get him to bring something in for me in exchange for bringing something in for him. Besides, he starts his new job on Tuesday and I doubt that his new office would throw him a birthday party, so I felt we needed to do something.

This is the e-mail that I sent out to the group today:

M�s birthday was on Monday, and mine�s tomorrow. Since everyone else in our office is either working the mission or having babies, it�s been left up to us to celebrate our own birthdays. So please join us today at 2pm for the brownies that M brought in for me and the peanut butter cookies that I brought in for him.

But shhhhhhhhh, it�s a secret. We don�t know.

The other thing that "M" doesn't know is that I ran to the store this morning at 9:30 to buy and then bake pre-formed cookies because we were out until 2am last night (yeah, we'll stop by the one-night-only open bar at the new lounge for one drink).

I've received several comments on my e-mail - one coworker even went so far as to say that it's the best birthday e-mail ever - so I think I succeeded in trying to be witty. ;)


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home