Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2005-01-11
one fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish

16:15

I suppose it's time to throw a bone to the hordes eager to read about the mundane details of my life and the not-so-intricate workings of my devious mind. So here we go. It's been two weeks, and I hope that people won't fall over in shock that I'm updating.

First, Christmas. Mine was WHITE. And I was in HOUSTON. Yes, you read that correctly and no, I'm not taking anything. Well, at least not enough to hallucinate snow, because that's what it did - it snowed in Houston! Everyone was so mad to have missed it, but I was here. I even took screen shots of the weather report on the internet just to prove it. And I have lots of pictures. Will I post any? Eventually. Before this century is out? Hmmm. I was SO excited. My friend, Rachael, was down from Austin and she laughed at me because I was so excited about the snow. You'd think I'd never seen it before. Well, I hadn't - in Houston, anyway! We had a very relaxed Christmas: shopping and eating. We made fondue for Christmas dinner. It was great!

I flew home on the 26th for two weeks, one of which was spent at Tahoe. Talk about snow! There was at least five feet piled up on the deck, though which my dad and I spent a good part of the day shoveling a path from the doors to the jacuzzi and the barbecue.

Due to several reasons, my family actually put off "Christmas" until the 26th, so I did end up getting to celebrate with them, which I wasn't expecting.

Those are the highlights. Oh, I had a lot of In-N-Out, and even some La Salsa. Yum. We also saw Phantom of the Opera, which I LOVED. My favorite part was at the beginning when the cover is pulled off of the chandelier and it's rising up to the Phantom music and the Opera transforms from its current dilapidated state (1919) to the lushness of fifty years prior (1870).

I have discovered that taking two weeks for Christmas vacation is okay, as long as one takes them at the same time as everyone else. Which I didn't. My office became a ghost town the week before Christmas, absolutely was the week of and I imagine that between Christmas and New Year's was the same, but then everyone came back on the 3rd of January and all of a sudden, it was as if they all returned with a hyped up work ethic because my Inbox was bombarded with e-mail after e-mail of "where are you" and "we NEED this NOW". Taking last week off was almost akin to blasphemy. So, needless to say, this week has been tough so far (yes, I know it's only Tuesay). Yesterday was rough, today is better, tomorrow and Thursday will probably be in between, and Friday, I should be able to breathe.

Sunday, I saw House of Flying Daggers. The first half of it was good, even three quarters, but the last bit of the movie killed it. I do, however, love the part where she's dancing the "Echo Game". Afterwards, Nick, Becca, Jo and I took Ollie, Bennet and Apache to PetCo; Nick for bird toys and goodies for Ollie, and Becca, Jo and I to get fish and maybe a toy or two for the pups. Jo got a goldfish for her office (which has since died, unfortunately), and Becca and I got Bettas (it's spelled with two t's, people!). Hers is named Sushi, so to go along with that, I decided to name mine Sashimi, which I think is a fun word, anyway. Sushi is a lot more active and swims aroung, while Sashimi is antisocial and hangs out at the top of his bowl, on the opposite side from people, like he's too good for us. Or at least, me. Here are their pictures (stolen from Becca's blog).

Sushi

and Sashimi


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home