Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2007-03-06
merely a flesh wound

20:41

Yesterday, after much browbeating, I finally went to the clinic. The bandage had adhered itself to my wound, and it took nearly a whole bottle of peroxide to loosen the skin so that it was only white-knuckle and not scream-out-loud pain when they finally ripped it off (any idiot should have known not to use gauze, just not this idiot). The nurse then asked me to rate the pain, if it was more aching or throbbing and I told her that usually, it was aching, but at that point, most definitely throbbing. While bandaging my foot properly with topical cream and non-adhesive bandages, both she and the doctor lectured me quite a bit (you'll all be glad to hear) about the necessity of doctors. However, he did make me nervous when he made an appointment with a plastic surgeon for me today. A plastic surgeon. Okay, so maybe this thing is a little more serious than I thought.

So, today I went to the surgeon. He took a look at it and told me that I had two options - 1) let it heal 2) have a skin graft, which would heal in about the same amount of time: 2-3 weeks. He laughed when I said, hmmm, let me think about that one. Keep it clean, wash it with soap and water and change the bandage twice daily - again, non-adhesive being the key.

However, just the fact that he even mentioned skin graft is rather disturbing. I never, ever thought it was that bad - I mean, it is big (turns out, 2cm sq.) but not deep, although deeper than I thought - the doctor likened it to a severe second-degree burn, a full thickness "avulsion", he called it. Anyway, that shows me. Must get doctors.

My foot certainly feels much better now that it's been dealt with properly; imagine that, doctors actually make things better. Shocking, I know. In fact, it's now my right upper arm that hurts more; the tetanus shot didn't hurt much when the clinic nurse gave it to me, but wow, did it make my arm sore!


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home