Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2008-09-03
take me out to the ballgame

12:26

I heard about Google's new browser, Chrome, on NPR yesterday. It sounds pretty neat! I think the feature that interests me the most is that, when using tabbed browsing, if one tab crashes, the other tabs continue to function normally. Even my favorite browser, Mozilla's Firefox, can't offer that.

*******

On Friday, I gathered a group of friends to go to the Astros' baseball game since it was Ausmus bobblehead night. Brad Ausmus is my favorite Astro, although maybe a little less so since he beaned the Giants' star pitcher, Tim Lincecum, in the shin earlier in August. Up until that point, the Giants had been holding onto a tenuous lead, but once Lincecum limped off, it was all over. The Giants must have gone through every pitcher that they had, but nothing worked, with the Astros routing the Giants 12-4. It was like Astros batting practice and the Giants just happened to be there. I was obviously the only Giants fan in the stadium, pouting while everyone else screamed excitedly when Berkman hit a Grand Slam.

Anyway, that was then, and Friday saw the Astros playing the St. Louis Cardinals, so I was definitely on the Astros' side that night. And what a night! It was so much fun. I was the only one who cared about the bobblehead, but two friends came early with me. In fact, no bobbleheads were left by the time we went through our gate, but at a suggestion from Jen, a veteran fan who knows a few secrets, we headed towards another, less-used gate. I was marching well ahead when I heard my name behind me - I had gone past a small entrance, and there were some left. Sonia had sweet-talked the gate employee out of one, and both of them laughed at the giddy look on my face when they presented me the bobblehead. :) The two guys of our group were showing up later, and I had to let them know where I'd left the tickets. First question asked by both was did I get my bobblehead? I guess I am really that transparent! I know that it's silly, but I was (and still am) very excited about having my Ausmus bobblehead. He's sitting on my desk, right next to my Peja Stoyakovic bobblehead, from when he was on the Sacramento Kings. One funny note - despite the fact that he was being honored in the form of a wiggly, plaster likeness, Ausmus wasn't actually catching that night!

The game was really fast, and when the last member of our group showed up thirty minutes in, we were already in the 4th inning! After the 7th inning, the game was tied 2-2. Then, bottom of the 9th, Berkman came up to bat. Of course, everyone was thinking, wouldn't it be great if he hit a home run right now? And he nearly did with his first hit which went into the crowd, just wide of the 1st base foul line. The tension in the air was palpable after that. Everyone was quiet, waiting. Very next pitch - Berkman swung...and it went into the Crawford boxes! A walk-off home run! Berkman's first, the announcer said, which we could hardly believe. Oh wow, did the crowd go absolutely wild. The best part was watching his team gather at the plate as he jogged the bases, then mobbing him as he crossed home. It's easy to become jaded about salaries and scandals and all that, but seeing these guys get that excited is what makes it fun.

Since it was a home game on a Friday night, that meant fireworks. After the game (which ended at 8:30!), the roof opened, and it was a very nice night. Clear, too. From our cheap seats on the first base side, we had a very good view of downtown, which looks quite pretty at night. Then the lights of the stadium were turned off, and we had the perfect view for the fireworks directly across from us. No measly few sparklers, either, but a 15-minute full-on spectacular show.

All in all, a great night. An evening spent with good friends, the Astros won in grand fashion, and there were fireworks. Oh, and of course, my Ausmus bobblehead. :)


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home