Temperature in
Houston, Texas is:

The WeatherPixie

LINKS

Sign my Guestbook
(Powered by SignMyGuestbook.com)

MSN Encarta

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." -Morrow

"Take care of the minutes, and the hours and years will take care of themselves." -Anonymous

"Love doesn't make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile." -F.P. Jones

Profile | Contact Me | Archive | Newest | Diaryland

2004-01-22
The adventure begins...

7:34 p.m.

We are (or rather, were) on our way to spend three days at a chalet in the French Alps to go skiing. Already, the adventure/drama begins.

After spending hours at the car rental place, the group that was to leave around 4:30/5, called me after 6 to say that they hadn't left yet. I was in the "late" car, leaving around 6:30 because some people wanted to go to French class. That included me, but I didn't even leave Europcar until after 5:30. First, Chris, Munir, and Ollie who were also renting cars didn't get theirs until around 5:15, and then it was my turn. However, it turns out that the car reserved for me was actually being put up for sale and couldn't be given to me. About 10 minutes of discussion of what to do with me ensued, and finally, they gave me another car.

I ran home, parked illegally in front of my building, ran upstairs to grab my stuff and throw it in the car before heading to the University to grab Will, Beth, and Beth's boyfriend, Tyler. Ruey called and it was decided to meet at Will's and Beth's and figure out cars from there.

Finally, we were on our way. However, not five minutes into the trip, we all pull over (I'm the last in four cars; there are actually five total, but one car got their shtuff together and went ahead). Turns out that our route goes through Switzerland, our native Alsatian, Gregory, telling us that it was cheaper to pay the 40 Euro Swiss car pass than to take the French toll roads. However, Switzerland, which is not part of the EU, requires passports, which Beth, Will, and Bavs didn't have on them.

Two of the four cars continued on ahead, and two of us returned so that everyone could get their passports and we decided to reconvene here, at ISU, which is why I'm here writing.

Whew!

Anyway, I imagine that they're all downstairs waiting so I'd better run. Have a great weekend, y'all!


Previous | Next

Friends
Strongbad | Artemis | Jen M. | Jo | Karen | Jen O. | Saadah | Unfinished Life
Skytland | Brooker | Kells | Margot | Viking Boy
Dinesh | Beth | Tydogg | Steve-o | ISU Blog | ISU Home